Formed by a group of keen river sports enthusiasts back in the summer of 1931, the objectives of the Club were to promote and encourage the traditional sports of racing in Thames skiffs and punts, and this is still true today.
The Club still uses equipment donated by its first benefactor Eric Haines of Haines Boatyard on the Straight Road in Old Windsor, who provided a clubhouse and both skiffs and punts before the Club could buy its own.
The minutes of the first meeting shed no light on this question and the Club has never actually been located in Wraysbury, always being on the opposite bank. Perhaps those who lived in Wraysbury held the majority at this meeting.
In 1975, the Club left Old Windsor and relocated some two miles downstream to its current location on a picturesque site adjoining the historic Runnymede Pleasure Grounds, the site of the signing of the Magna Carta.
In 2007, the Club opened its new modern purpose-built clubhouse and boathouse, providing a valuable sports facility to the Borough of Runnymede and the surrounding area.
The Club is first and foremost a racing club and participates in leagues for all three sports offered; skiffing, punting and dragon boat racing. Training continues throughout the year but the skiffing and punting racing season runs from May through to October, when some 20 regattas are held at various locations between Henley and Teddington on the River Thames. The season starts and ends with long distance races with the town and club regattas offering sprint racing in the middle part. The Club hosts 4 of these regattas (2 town, 1 Club and 1 long distance) the oldest of which, Egham Amateur Regatta, dates back to 1909.